As bad as the penalties are for a first-time OUI/DUI conviction in Connecticut, they are that much worse for second, third and subsequent offense convictions. If you have been charged with drunk driving and have prior OUI convictions on your record, it is important to consult with an experienced defense lawyer as soon as possible.
At The Law Office of Jerome Paun, we can provide you with the effective drunk driving defense representation you need. We are committed to helping our clients avoid the harsh consequences of multiple OUI convictions.
Second, Third And Subsequent OUI Convictions
The look back period for OUI offenses in Connecticut is 10 years. If you are convicted of a second OUI offense within 10 years of your first conviction, you face a fine ranging from $1,000 to $4,000 and a mandatory minimum jail sentence of at least 120 days.
You also face a suspension of your driver's license and, as a condition for the restoration of your operator's license, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in each motor vehicle you own or operate for two years, at your own expense.
A third or subsequent conviction will result in permanent revocation of your driver's license. The fines for a third conviction range from $2,000 to $8,000, the jail sentence ranging from a mandatory minimum of one year up to three years.
If you have been charged with a second, third or subsequent OUI in Connecticut, don't panic! While the penalties are harsh, there are effective drunk driving defense strategies an experienced lawyer can employ on your behalf to minimize, if not avoid, negative consequences.
Contact Us To Defend Against Drunk Driving Multiple Offenses
To consult with a skilled OUI defense attorney in Willimantic, contact The Law Office of Jerome Paun online or by telephone at 866-787-0119 today.