The Law Office of Jerome Paun

Vigorously Defending Your Rights

Free Initial Consultation
860-455-4053| 866-787-0119 toll free

Potential penalties under Connecticut's drunk driving laws

If you decide to drive drunk in Connecticut, it's important to note that you stand the potential of being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) whether you agree to your blood alcohol content (BAC) being taken or not. This is because the state views driving as a privilege and requires drivers to agree to the Implied Consent Law. As such, any police official can take your BAC without securing your consent.

In the state of Connecticut, a BAC that is considered to be representative of legal intoxication is any number that is 0.08 or above. For those under the state's legal drinking age of 21, any BAC level of 0.02 or higher is considered to be intoxicated.

If you happen to be arrested on suspicion of DUI, you should expect to first have your rights read to you and then be transported to jail. As for your vehicle, it will be towed from the scene where you were stopped at your own expense. You will be expected to remain in jail until you make contact with someone who is willing or able to bail you out.

Once you're convicted of a DUI in Connecticut, your arrest report is automatically sent to the DMV, a process that results in the suspension of your license under Connecticut General Statute §14-227b starting at the 30-day post-arrest point. Your suspension will last 45 days.

Additionally, anyone convicted of a DUI in Connecticut is required to have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed on one's car. For those under 21, it must be installed for a year after a first offense; each additional offense carries an addition year's use of the IID. For those 21 and over, the installation of the IID starts at six months for the initial DUI, with each additional one carrying up to a year of this punitive consequence.

Aggravated circumstances including the use of alcohol and drugs simultaneously, or a DUI that results in the death of another, carry much more severe penalties. If you're facing DUI charges, it will be prudent to partner with a Windham, Connecticut, criminal defense attorney.

Source: ct.gov, "Conneticut's drunk driving law," accessed April 21, 2017

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
2014 Top 100 lawyer ASLA
Jerome W PaunClients’ ChoiceAward 2017
Avvo rating 9.5 superb Top Attorney Criminal Defense