Every state's DUI laws are different. Even though many states have strengthened DUI penalties, some are more lenient than others. Besides criminal penalties, which can include jail time and administrative penalties, such as the loss of a driver's license, people who are convicted of drunk driving often feel a significant financial impact. This can include fines, fees for installation of an ignition interlock device, the cost of an alcohol education program, increased car insurance rates and potentially lost wages.
Therefore, it shouldn't seem so surprising that the financial website WalletHub compared the varying DUI penalties throughout the country. Among other things, the site ranked states based on how strict they are on DUIs.
Connecticut was ranked the third strictest state overall, and the fifth strictest in criminal penalties. That was much higher than any other northeastern state. The closest was New Hampshire at 18th overall and 20th in criminal penalties.
In Connecticut a first offense DUI carries a minimum two days in prison and a three-month license suspension. The length of time behind bars increases, of course, with subsequent convictions. A second offense can land you behind bars for 120 days. A third offense is a felony. Previous convictions factor into criminal penalties for ten years.
It's interesting to note that overall, so-called "Blue States" that lean Democratic have slightly more lenient DUI penalties than "Red," or Republican-leaning states. However, the difference was only a bit over 5 percent.
If you're arrested for driving under the influence in Connecticut, it's essential to see experienced legal guidance. The potential consequences to your life are too serious to try to deal with it on your own.
Source: WalletHub, "Strictest And Most Lenient States On DUI," Alina Comoreanu, accessed May 27, 2016